School and Projects

I am officially registered for my first Photography class at Pellissippe this summer! May can’t come too quickly as I still have to purchase my camera, but I’m so excited to be this far along in pursuing my dream!! Now what will I do with it? I’m still not sure. I do know that after the camera and the kit lens which I am starting with, and hopefully a 50mm f/1.8 lens which I may be getting used from a friend, the next lens will be a Micro lens and then I would really like to save for the 70mm – 200mm lens. It is a great lens, and it comes with a hefty price, so it may not be here for a few years, but I do want it! Okay and then I want a wide angle to portrait lens, but which one is still up in the air.

Luckily my first lens will have enough range for me to do portraits as well as wide angle and a small zoom. I would really like to save for a different lens, but since our home computer just crashed, we need to buy something so that we have internet at home, and then I’m saving for a Mac for my classes and my future in Photography!

I want to start to practice photographing people and see how I like it! I have a few friends that I’m sure would be more than willing models, so if you are reading this and would like to help, I’d love to take your picture. I have discovered a few locations that I really want to use for a photo shoot, but finding the right light and the best time of day is also one thing that is a challenge. I’m not sure if this is a venue I will enjoy, but I would like to explore this and see where it takes me. I know I enjoy taking pictures in a casual setting when people are milling about, but portrait work is a different beast since your subjects may look to you for advise in posing, location, relaxing, etc. I have been reading a lot of things that have helped in this area, but nothing beats good old fashioned practice!!

Until next time!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

