Car Spill

Today I took my car to the Honda dealership, and they are working on cleaning out the paint.  The weather has helped in that it was cold last night and not hot, so the paint didn’t even have time to dry or set in.  It was still wet and the Honda dealership saw it coming out when they tried the chemicals on it.  The said they would probably have trouble with the stain on the seat, but most of the rest should come out fairly easy.  The dealership has my car and will be picking me up today at 5:00p to take me back and it should be done by then.  Thankfully they were able to get to it today.  They also said this is something they see more often than not, so apparently it’s a common problem! 

Thankfully Lowe’s will be reimbursing me for it.  It is going to cost around $200 – $225 to get this done, which just astounds me, but they will reimburse me.  They have seen this before, as it seemed like old hat to me when they had the answers to all of my questions.  Lowe’s is also giving me another gallon of paint, and something to remove the paint from the pavement where some of it spilled when I took it out.

I’ve attached a picture of the damage so you can see the lovely color!  🙂  It’s not quite a reflection of the color that will be on the wall, but I’ll post pics of that when I finish painting.  I’ll be starting on the living room tonight with my new gallon of paint!  🙂 

Paint Spill

3 thoughts on “Car Spill

  1. Noelle,
    Last year, the same thing happened to me, but with a gallon of Kilz primer. It took 4 of us about 2 hours to get most of it up. Cade had some chemicals that really helped. You could barely tell when all was said and done. The only thing was, it was nobody’s fault but my own. I didn’t put the lid back on tight enough and the propane tank rolled into it and knocked it over, causing the spill!

  2. Oh, not good!! I’m glad you were able to get it out. I’m so hopeful that they can get most of it out, but also wondering if my car will smell for the coming weeks! If it ever happens again, I guess Cade is the person to call! Good to know! 🙂

  3. Silver Lining time . . . . it could be worse. My parents repainted their living room after having new carpet installed – and proceeded to spill an entire can of paint all over the new carpet. It all came out with many hours of cleaning. I just had to smile in that it seemed like something I would doing (being the klutz that I am) not something my folks usually do.

Leave a Reply

