Spreading My Wings

Spreading My Wings, originally uploaded by noelleW.

I arrived home from work after a long day of budgets and meetings, and boy was I tired!! It was time to kick back, pack for Kingsport to spend some time with my father-in-law for Father’s Day, and relax.

Shortly thereafter, one of my cats was poised at the window as if he was about to attack something outside. When I looked this is what I saw! A baby Dove was walking around outside of our windows. (I don’t know if it was a baby boy or girl, but for the sake of this conversation, we will call him a baby boy) I went out and was amazed at how close he actually let me get before spreading his wings. Though he mostly walked the whole time, he finally took off right after I was done with most of the shots that I wanted to capture.

This was one of my favorites, as it was caught just as he was thinking about flying. Spreading his wings just for a second before strutting a few steps away and feeling safe again.

It is amazing how God takes such amazing care of everything and He even these baby birds are taken care of in such a fragile state. It reminds me how sometimes he allows us to go it alone (or so it seems) and just when we aren’t sure if the wings will really carry us, we take off and begin to soar! God, may I soar as I follow what you have for me to do every day of my life!! May it all be for Your Glory!

Leave a Reply

