Mothers Day portrait sessions, Knoxville, TN

Mothers Day is just around the corner and I can’t wait to celebrate it!  There is something special about spending time with your mom, the woman who has become a friend, the one who always cares, the one who has encouraged me to dream beyond where I am at and the one who has given and continues to give so unselfishly in so many ways!

In all honesty, it has been quite a few years since I have invested time to get out from behind the camera and capture an image of the two of us.  As the years have gone by, time passes quicker and quicker and though we get together to spend time, I have found that I am not capturing images of both of us, but just of her.  And since my mom is like me with the camera, we might both be out capturing images of events and nature, but rarely of ourselves.  The awareness came when I took an image of my parents last year at the wedding of some dear friends, and it was an amazing natural light shot of both of my parents that was beautiful!   The smiles on their faces in their wedding album were the same smiles that were on their faces that day.   I wanted an image of that with my mom this year!  One that has been at least 3 years since we have taken one together.  This time no more excuses.

At Imaging USA this year, I was moved to tears when David Williams shared a story of a photographer who took a picture of her husband and her daughter  just before her husband left, and he never made it home.  The picture that she took was the last picture they would ever have together.  He was a young man (late 20’s) and the little girl was maybe 6 years old.  For her that will be the last photo of her and her dad.  That has weighed on my mind as I get older and approach a milestone birthday in just a months.  I want more memories to preserve what someday time will strip away. 

So value the time you have with your mom this year, and dad’s this would be a great idea for a gift as well.  Something you can never replace anywhere other than in your mind are the visual memories of the time you have with your mom.  Take time today to schedule a session so that you too can preserve the most prized gift you are given, the gift of a mom!  Celebrate her and your relationship with her this year in a way that she will treasure.

I look forward to talking with you soon! 

Noelle

asdjkhsdk

Leave a Reply

