Knoxville Habitat for Humanity is a cause I stand behind.

The last month and a half, my home church Fellowship Church has partnered once again with Knoxville Habitat for Humanity to build LaQuisha a home.  It has been a fun the four days that I was able to be a part of the build.  I’m looking forward to seeing it come to completion in a few weeks at the dedication.

The first day is always so much fun for me as the you get to swing the hammer, work out muscles you don’t use every day, and slowly watch the walls take shape. It was also fun as it may have been about 8 years since I worked regularly with Knoxville Habitat for Humanity, but it just happened that Tony was the house leader for this build. Tony and I worked together quite a bit in the past and it was a lot of fun to work with him again. Another Yankee and a great Italian…a great combination!

I missed getting a picture of the house framing, but here’s a picture of the house after the sheathing on the roof went up. I joined the Tuesday crew to help with this as this did not get that done on the first day.

Knoxville Habitat for Humanity Noelle Bell Photography 1

Knoxville Habitat for Humanity Noelle Bell Photography 2

The following week was time for the ROOF!  My favorite part, and what I used to help lead when I was volunteering more regularly.  We had a great crew and we got the shingles up in no time and the day ended sooner than expected as the crew below us framed the interior walls.

Last Saturday I was there with a crew to paint. We had a wonderful crew, a nice temperature outside, and I think it’s the fastest I’ve ever seen a crew work.  We didn’t start till after 8:15am and I was home by 11:00am.  I did remember to get a picture of the crew finally this time, so here are a bunch of shots of the work and one final one of the crew.  These guys and gals were so much fun to work with. I even met another photographer who goes to my church, but she’s on the dark side….she shoots Canon!  😉

Habitat

Knoxville Habitat for Humanity Noelle Bell Photography 6

Knoxville Habitat for Humanity Noelle Bell Photography 7

I am looking forward to seeing this house complete and attending the dedication. I hope that many years of happiness and love will be spent in this home.

If you want to join a great cause, be sure to donate a Saturday or two of your time to working with the Knoxville Habitat for Humanity. It’s amazing how much the joy in serving will bless not only the homeowner, but you as well.

Leave a Reply

